Saturday&Spirits

IMG_5476I had plans to make sloe gin but my excursions have come up short of berries; there aren’t that much sloes on the bushes because the spring was so cold, and what little is  I’ll leave for the birds. Instead I decided to go all in with the quince liqueur this autumn.

Quinces I bought at the market, I went with a less expensive cognac but not the cheapest because in my experience that’s just nasty. It’s worth spending a little extra on this, especially since I’m thinking about giving some away as Christmas presents.

I’ve made this before with light rum and spices, with cognac and spices and this time it’s just fruit and booze. And a little sugar. The real sweetening however is done in six weeks time, and then it can be adjust to taste. The first recipe I used was from the web, this is a pared down version of that from The wonderful weekend book by Elspeth Thompson.

Quince brandy-based liqueur; yields almost 1 liter in the end

750 ml cognac/brandy (spend as much as you feel you can afford)

1 large quince

4 tablespoons of castersugar

  1. Rinse and dry the fruit. Then spilt it in quarters.
  2. Put the fruit pieces in a clean 1 liter jar, add the sugar and the pour the cognac/brandy over it. Closer the lid.
  3. Let infuse for at least six weeks.
  4. After six weeks; pour through a sieve and add around 2 dl of freshly made sugar syrup to the cognac/brandy, stir so it blends and put into clean bottles.

IMG_5478

This is so easy to make, and such a great thing to have. Impossible to buy something similar in the shops. I’ve made several cocktails with it but just mixed with some champagne it’s wonderful.

-Suss

Leave a Reply

