Wednesday & What I’ve been wearing

As we have had a bit of sun, but more importantly a lack of rain, in these parts I’ve had the chance to wear a few of my dresses. This is a few of them(i.e. the ones I’ve remembered to take mirror selfies when wearing).

1.Long sleeved dress made of an old curtain. I bought this fabric intending to make a blanket and some cushions. In fact I did, but didn’t use them so it got turned into a dress. It was from a second hand shop and there was only one length, somewhat damaged. Enough to make this however. I use it more in winter because of the sleeves and the colours (which are amazing I think). Probably from the 60’s? IMG_2284 (1)

2. Silk dress with feather print. This is a bit too fancy for daytime according to some. I ignore those people. One of my pet peeves is when buying a nice silk dress from a store they are lined with synthetic fabric. What’s the point rather? This fabric, a nice light silk, was a gift and I had enough of it to line it with silk also, which makes it ideal to wear in summer as it keeps nice and cool. I do love the print but it is one where I feel my glasses don’t match. IMG_3271

3. Remade dutch wax print. This started as a tunic and trousers that my parents got as a gift from a friend. It was folded away in a drawer somewhere until I got my mittens on it. I saved the detail with  the collar and buttons, but fashioned a dress from the rest. Again; lovely colours, it’s got pockets and it’s a nice cotton. And yes; I wear everything with a black cardigan.IMG_3191

4. Long dress made of my mum’s old jacket and skirt. This used to be two pieces that my mum wore in the 90’s. It’s a thin viscose and a some wear and tear(but also the fact that she is several sizes bigger) left enough fabric for a long sleeveless dress. As I’m sensitive to the sun it’s good to have a few longer pieces for summer least I forget to reapply sunscreen. I have worn this a lot and as it was old fabric it’s on it’s last legs sadly. I love the print on this and have a similar print on a woolly winter dress.

IMG_3214

-Suss

2 thoughts on “Wednesday & What I’ve been wearing”

Leave a Reply

