Tuesday & time to dig through the archives

The brilliant podcast In our time is on a summer break. How rude. What am I supposed to listen then? How will any housework get done?

As can be expected with my somewhat terrier like personality I have since discovering that podcast listened through a sizable share of their archives. But maybe you haven’t and so you have that joy ahead of you.

They are all worth listening to, many bring up authors or discuss certain works in depth which makes the reading of them more informed. I probably would not have enjoyed or understood Beowulf as well without listening to that episode. Obviously Melvyn Bragg and his guests have made my TBR much longer but worth it. Some scrolling might be needed to find them, the podcast as such is found where you usually find them, it’s a BBC4 production.

These are seven of my favorite episodes in no particular order.

  1. Robinson Crusoe: I remember reading this books as a child but realize now that it must have been one of those child friendly versions. It was also interesting to hear of context and influences. I am considering a reread.
  2. Queen Zenobia:  A warrior queen that challenged the Roman Empire. Why haven’t you heard that name before?  As they conclude in the show; Shakespeare didn’t immortalize her in play that’s why. Fascinating stuff.
  3. The Talmud: My knowledge of judaism was much improved after listening to this episode and the history of The Talmud is layered. The making of the sacred text over a long time is also the history of the Jewish people.
  4. Bruegel’s The fight between Carnival and Lent: It’s a joy to listen to a discussion about this painting as the context is given and the details of it explained. And there is a lot going on. Having seen a Bruegel or two in my time I now appreciate them more.
  5. The Salem Witch Trials: I’ve read and listened to a fair few things on the topic of witches in my time. Maybe Roald Dahl’s Witches is to blame? Anyways this is a very informative episode.
  6. The Egyptian book of the dead: Having heard it mentioned many times in popular culture, the TV-series Penny Dreadful comes to mind, I hadn’t really understood what the book of the dead was. Now I know. And I’m forever wanting to learn more about ancient Egypt.
  7. The battle of Lincoln 1217: In this episode there is a mention, however brief, of a swashbuckling apostate monk by the name of Eustace. Truth is stranger then fiction.

Are there any podcast that you would like to recommend? My ears are open to suggestions as I will have to clean,iron and do dishes as usual during summer and I need something to entertain me when I do.

-Suss

Leave a Reply

