The scented bar cart

NB: I may have blogged about this cocktail before as it is one of my fave summer tipples, in that case I apologize. I have if nothing else spoken about it loads here,there and everywhere so I thought I might supply you with precise measurements and directions. This has appeared on my now defunct cocktail blog. 

My first efforts to make this cocktail came from nothing more then the description in a review of the cookbook The scented kitchen by Frances Bissell. I ordered the book as soon as I could and experimented with this while waiting for it to arrive.

The cook book is nothing to look at in the jungle of fancy cookbooks with gorgeous photos and nice layout. However it is full of memories,stories and imbued with a love of cooking with flowers. I do recommend it warmly if you are interested in that sort of thing.

IMG_3410

In the last chapter she has a few drinks. If someone writes about a drink with mint and rum I immediately assume its some kind of Mojito, and that’s what I had started making. As it turns out Bissell’s Rosa Cubana is more of a shaken cocktail with a sprig of mint. Lovely as the original is, at that point I had already gotten used to my own version which is muddled and heavy on the mint. She uses rose syrup which I can never find a reasonable bottle of, nor have the chance to make my own. I started making rosewater syrup, and never looked back. That syrup is now a cornerstone in my cocktail making.

Rosewater syrup; Use the cheap kind for this and save the high quality for other things.

Bring 2 dl of rosewater to the boil. Stir in 3 dl of caster sugar and keep stirring until the sugar has dissolved. Let cool and then transfer to a bottle and keep it in the fridge. Will keep for about two weeks.

Rosa Cubana; yields one cocktail

5 cl of light rum

3 cl pink grapefruit juice

1,5 cl of rosewater syrup

a bunch of mint

for serving;

tumbler full of crushed ice

  1. Add the rum, juice, syrup and mint to the glass and stir/muddle vigorously until the flavours have been combined.
  2. Serve with a straw.

Pink grapefruit juice isn’t necessary, it just looks a lot nicer. Enjoy responsibly.

-Suss

2 thoughts on “The scented bar cart”

Leave a Reply

