Weekend and wishful reading

img_9353

Should auld acquaintance be forgot

And never brought to mind?

Should auld acquaintance be forgot

and auld lang syne!

-From “Auld Lang Syne” by Robert Burns

Well 2016 is almost over, and I’m thankful for that. It’s been a bad year; for the world and for me. What do I wish for 2017 then?

World peace, gender equality, the eradication of poverty and all that. I do strive to good in life and spread positivity, give and take the odd sarcasm.

Old acquaintances shouldn’t be forgot, nor should new ones. 2016 was the year I really understood the power of social media and it has brought me joy and friendships. Forever grateful for that. And I did read a lot of good books, and found poetry.

I will continue to read a bit of poetry every day, made easy by “A poem for every night of the year” by Allie Esri. It’s intended, I guess, for parents to read to children but I read it for myself. My idea of starting it on January 1st was laid to waste by my curiosity, I started the moment it arrived, and good for me; the Christmas poems brought real holiday feeling. It’s a gem of a book quite frankly and that cover speaks to me!

One of the most memorable book-related things must be the clothes I made inspired by the covers to Jane Austens’s books in the beautiful editions brought out by Vintage books.I’m now a Leanne Sharpton fan-girl for sure. Hopefully I’ll manage a few more cover inspired outfits in the coming year. Although right now I’m into patchwork in a major way.

A part from that I’ll try to read according to my mood and taste, which frankly is all over the place. I do love to read from different genres and find that they often inform each other; maybe that’s just a Freudian interpretation but whatever. Something from one book can make something clearer in another.

I’m off to celebrate the new year where the reception is bad and the distractions are many. I wish you all the best for 2017 and see you again Monday!

-Suss

3 thoughts on “Weekend and wishful reading”

  1. oh nooo, why was it a bad year for you? I am more postive myself – I read more than
    the few years before combined, made bookish friends which made me really happy and started full time on a new job…and my best friend become a mother, I am really happy for her πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

