I’m dreaming of a White Christmas

NB; this is a translated and edited post from my old cocktail-blog.

img_8867

All happy families are alike; each unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.

-First line of Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

As much as I love Tolstoy in general and Anna Karenina in particular, that sentence is rubbish. People point at it as some kind of genius insight and it is frequently quoted as such when a quick look around society will tell you that many unhappy families suffer from the same unhappiness ; substance abuse.

I do not want to diminish anyones tragedy but it is a fact that time and time again people feel the same guilt and shame because they are effected by the destructive behavior of others. Alcoholism is the most common  and that’s why I’m writing this post.

There is a little Christmas cocktail thing coming. But I would first like to point out that no child ever asked for drunk parents for Christmas, and this is the children’s holiday.

Coming from me that might sound odd but I’ve always tried to explain that I’m obsessed with cocktails because I just don’t drink that much and I want those things to be worth it.

And by all means: drink and be merry but do so responsibly and in the company of other adults. And if there is someone in your surrounding with a drinking problem I understand that confronting them is much to ask, but don’t enable it either.

Put out bottles of water; with all the rich food this time of year you’ll need it. Try having a few non-alcoholic options around; apple juice is good, citrus is at it’s prime, in Sweden we are going crazy for our “julmust” and non-alcoholic mulled wine/glögg tastes really good cold with plain old tonic. Throw in an orange slice for a festive touch.

Also; being sober makes it easier not to get into a political discussion with aunts and uncles. Because those never end well.

-Suss

Leave a Reply

