Blue is the warmest colour

15. I think of these people as my blue correspondents,whose job it is to send me blue reports from the field.

The Argonauts by Maggie Nelson is one of the most talked about books this year it feels like. It’s a book I recommend to almost everyone as I find it to be fairly easy read but very relevant and well-put voice in a debate about what it means to be a women, about motherhood and all the confusion that it entails. After reading it I made a point of reading more by Nelson. Bluets came highly recommended and after finding a reference to it in The Essex serpent I was more intrigued.

img_9113

I wasn’t sure what to expect but I had high hopes and I have to say, it lived up to them.

Basically Nelson has written a bunch of micro-essays,reminiscent of Jenny Ofill’s The department of speculation(which I also loved), on her love of the colour blue and manages to tell a bigger story through that. About the shades of blue, of feeling blue and of having blue bruises all over.

I was surprised how much I loved this book. At first I dipped into it and read a little bit every day but it got to me, and I finished it in one sitting. And then I wanted to read it again. And again.

It manages to be so beautiful and soothing, like there is structure in chaos. Much of the book points out that we know nothing and madness is around the corner. Somehow that is fine, I’m calmed by the honesty. Which also makes it just thought-provoking enough not to be pretentious. She makes it look so easy, the words just flow. When you get that feeling like you just loose yourself.

Boldly I will  say that this is one of the books I will remember the most from 2016. For next year I will make a point to read more of her. That goes on the TBR immediately.

-Suss

 

4 thoughts on “Blue is the warmest colour”

  1. ‘The Argonauts’ has been in my to-be-read for some time now. I think it was the recommendation by Emma Watson that got to me the first time I came across it. Will order it and read it once I get through my recent library finds and borrowed books from dear friends. I think my December book list has become very daring and ambitious.😅 Hopefully, I will manage to get through it and also enjoy it.

  2. I wanted to buy Nelson’s books yesterday, but couldn’t find them at Waterstones. I regret now that I didn’t ask, I may have been looking in the wrong place. I hope to still read her this year.

Leave a Reply

