The spirit of readings past…

img_9048

One of the joys of being an adult is the freedom to create my own traditions; one of which is to read A Christmas Carol. Although this one started in my teens when I discovered Dickens  to be honest. I just didn’t think of it as a tradition until later.  This lovely Peter Pauper edition has not been with me since back then,  I picked up earlier this year at a flea market, but the story has.

Obviously I’ve seen adaptations of it but nothing beats curling up on the sofa with a cup of tea or warm “Glögg”(the swedish version of mulled wine) and spending quality time with Scrooge and the spirits( also; “Scrooge and the spirits” would be a great name for a punk band).

Dickens has such a great voice, and the writing is just so. Over the years, as is the case with habitual rereading, a layer is added with memories of reading it and where I was in life when I did so. Unlike Dickens other works this is a mere 100 pages or so and most people can manage it. Still; he manages to get a mention of spontaneous combustion in there.

The moral of the story is a simple and classic one; don’t forget your loved ones, which is what  Christmas is all about for me. It’s easy to get carried away with consumerism and it is for many a heavy burden of traditions (everything on the Christmas table must be the same!!). Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas something awful, but I am unable to just do the same thing every year(except binge on food. I am forever the “Spirit of Christmas overeating. And listening to cheesy Christmas music; I’m all about Wham and Mariah Carey until December 25th).

I try to make my own Christmas cards, I will rather give homemade gifts or well thought out budget-items so that it does’t go overboard. I will  spoil people rotten on their birthdays instead. In my family we have Christmas themes (This year it’s Greece; I’ll explain in a later post when I’ve planned some more). One of the few things that people think I’m good at is giving and making gifts so I’ll try to share some of that too.

Basically I declare the Christmas season open in this house.

-Suss

 

2 thoughts on “The spirit of readings past…”

Leave a Reply

