The opposite of bookstyle (i.e. Style books)

img_8619I’m currently in a bit of a reading slump, and my sewing projects are progressing slowly. The reason for both of those things is basically “life” and all that comes with it.

So my heap of materials stay where they are. I made a few things last week (we’ll get to that eventually) which isn’t bad I had just planned to do so much more. With a fair few of the pieces of fabric I know what I’m gonna do. But there are also some stuff that I don’t yet know the future of. So I’ve been looking through Vouge,old tear-sheets and a few of my books for inspiration.

Self-portrait in a velvet dress-Frida’s wardrobe about the clothes worn by artist Frida Kahlo is a book that I’ve had for a few years and it hasn’t stopped being mesmerizing yet. It was originally published på Chronicle Books in 2007 but I stumbled upon a second hand copy online and bought it. Never have I looked back,it was worth every penny. Kahlo is an artist that I admire; to be honest I find her more inspiring then her art(although they are the one and the same in many ways). She loved clothes and understood how to communicate with them, often eschewing fashion for traditional styles. And she had the possibilities to wear the very best of that kind. The colours and textures are amazing, I pour over the photos over and over again. It took a long time before the Frida Kahlo Museum got around to preserving her garments; luckily they had hung in a wardrobe and thus been kept away from light and dust. It’s a book that I will keep coming back to.

Women in Clothes by Sheila Heti,Heidi Julavits and Leanne Sharpton (and 639 others) is a book  to about the clothes about one women but many (642 to be exact). I find it difficult to describe, maybe the best way is to say that it’s stories about women and their clothes, which says nothing at all really.

The writers of this book state that they wanted it to be like the conversations women have about clothes with their friends; and they often succeed in that. The collection of essays,thought, transcripts of conversations and the answers to a survey they sent out add up to this very real and honest book about the stuff we wear, or don’t wear. And it is so far from what fashion magazines tell us. I kind of fell in love with this book, and many women in it. I loved hearing the stories and despite it not being the intention it totally informed my style. But then again most things do. Like I’m listening to a lot of podcasts about medieval women right now so I’m probably gonna start wearing one of those pointy hats with a veil on top of it any day now…

Just two recommendations if you think fashion magazines are getting a little repetitive(#gigihadidfatigue).

-Suss

Leave a Reply

