Correspondance cocktail

img_6733I always thought that writing letters and cards was a sign of maturity and the height of sophistication. And fun. So I always have. I do try to stay in touch with people and I understood early how much a letter or a card means; if nothing else when I got them myself.

It has always been the case that I send more then I get. And I will not complain about that; catching up with correspondence doesn’t have the same allure to everyone. They might call or send a long e-mail. Or make me the first person that they call when they are back in town. Sending letters should be done with a generous and undemanding heart. And considering how much fun I have buying cards and other stationary I’m very glad I have friends that live in other places then Stockholm (although Stockholm-friends might get a card for their birthday or Christmas).

Lucky for me there are letters of others to read, and I  enjoy doing so. I’m the nosey kind. This summer I read Jane Austen’s letters,The letters of Nancy Mitford and Evelyn Waugh and Letters to Milena by Franz Kafka. The last was brilliant; the first two slightly disappointing. Some writers write their letters with an eye to publication, some do not. In earlier times many  letters were read out loud in any case; the were a public affair. I’m not sure which makes the best reading. Honestly  I feel I need to read a book about the history of letter writing ( I have read To the letter by Simon Garfield but that’s mostly about mail and sending letters).

I’m endlessly fascinated by the lives and thoughts of the famous, the creative and the beautiful of the past. Will posterity instead judge us by our tweets?

Well no; there is (supposedly) a “snail-mail revolution” going on. Or so Instagram tells me. As I never stopped writing letters I very glad that other have started too. There are books on the subject, and blogs and what not. And I’ve created a cocktail.

On one occasion I posted about the classic Airmail-cocktail and it’s a true classic. But when I was doing research on it I found this reference to an updated version ,called The e-mail, created by the godfather of Modern mixology David Wondrich. And that got me thinking….

Basically I took the ingredients of an Airmail and prepared them as an Old-fashioned. The Angostura and cherry that is a part of the latter drink got replaced by Peychaud’s bitters. And it turned out really well.

Correspondance-cocktail; yields 1 cocktail

5 cl dark rum

2 cl honey-syrup

1/2 lime; chopped into quarters

Peychaud’s bitters

for serving;

tumbler

icecubes

champagne (a dash = cirka 2 cl)

  1. In a stirring glas combine the rum,honey-syrup and the bitters. Stir until properly chilled.
  2. Place the chopped lime and ice cubes in the tumblers. Pour the liquid from the stirring glass into the tumbler(not the ice!!).
  3. Stir the drink with a small spoon; try to give the limes a squeeze.
  4. Add the dash of champagne and serve!

This is a lovely sweet and sour drink; fresh without being bland. The honey-syrup is good in other cocktails (try making a proper old-fashioned using that and smokey whiskey. It’s divine).

-Suss

Leave a Reply

