Jabberwock cocktail

This will made you gyre and gamble in the wake until brillig all right,all right

img_6162I’m a cocktail nerd and a booklover. And to make matters worse(or better depending on your point of view) I like to mix my cocktails with a little literary reference. I did not come up with this( but like in other instances I take it further then most). My point is that in what is to be regarded as holy scripture in modern day mixology,The Savoy Cocktail book, there is a drink named after a character in Alice in Wonderland. And it’s a very nice cocktail.

At some point I will probably create my own drinks based on the book, it has been a favorite since childhood and there is a lot to “work with”. I don’t think that Alice in wonderland needs any introduction. What I will say is that I’m very happy that the edition with illustrations by Tove Jansson is again in print. I went out and bought a copy, and it has made me smile; it really is beautiful. I also picked up some flamingo cocktails-sticks a swizzles for this and further themed cocktails.

In the original recipe there is “Caperitif” which is no longer made. In “Let’s bring back-the cocktail edition” by Lesley M. Blume the recommendation is to replace it with either Lillet Blanc or Dubonnet. I prefer the latter because there is a nice cat on the bottle(and I think it has a better “bite”).

Jabberwock cocktail;makes 1 drink

2 cl gin

2cl Dubonnet

2 cl Dry Sherry

1 dash orange bitters

  1. Stir in a mixing glass over lots of ice until chilled.
  2. Strain into a cocktail glass.
  3. Squeeze a lemon or orange peel (my preference) over it a.k.a. zesting and the use the zest as a garnish.
  4. Enjoy responsibly

 

That really is all there is to it. Easy to make and rather easy to drink. Something with a bit of literary glamour.

-Suss

 

Leave a Reply

